YFCz, New Musical White-Meat

I have an idea, which I may or may not feel like taking down in writing and forwarding to GACKT: Like, maybe he should drop the whole band thing and found the GACKT Orchestra. Then he can have as many band members as he wants on stage and nobody will think anything of it.

I like to think of myself as an adaptable soul, and I’m pretty open to change. But I’m also pretty comfortable with the 5-member band formula, now that Visual Kei has pushed me out of the standard 4-man comfort-zone and into the whole almost-as-cool-as-it-sounds “dueling-guitars” thing.

But to have 7 band members just hurts my brain. And dear lord, what exactly does that coat on the chair symbolize? Surely not the potential addition of an eighth member? Seriously, this is not A-PeaceAnd I still can’t figure out for the life of me what Jon’s actual, serious purpose is in this group. I know all the fangirls who harbor tender teenage dreams of going to Japan and starting Visual Kei bands will hate me forever for saying it, but I’m honest-to-gawd just waiting for a logical explanation for his presence in this band.

I can’t figure out if GACKT is just working the edge, or trolling us.

Not able to scrape enough interest off the bottom of my boot to watch the PV for The End of the Day, after the redundant lyrics pushed me away initially, I will say that I’m not entirely disinterested in All My Love. The song sounds decent enough on its own. That being said, I’m not sure I’m tempted enough to pre-order a copy of YFCz’s new album, destined to drop early 2012.  Title is TBA at the moment, but I’m sure it’ll be something relating to the waning phase of a 24-hour segment of time.

GACKT will also be releasing a single (solo? As far as I can tell) on the same date (2.22.12), titled Until The Last Day. Still haven’t heard Graffiti, but my Jrock senses tingled as I passed the Christmas tree earlier, and I’m pretty confident it’s in my future, all thanks to myself Santa of course.

4 responses to “YFCz, New Musical White-Meat

  1. I’m slightly relieved I’m not the only one who thought “End of the Day” was kinda on the mediocre side of things – the PV was full of some good Gackt and Jon fanservice if that influences your decision to view it in any way. ;) But now that you mention it, his presence is kinda . . . random. Occasionally contributing lyrics and backing vocals is all he’s done so far, but I mean any of the other seven members could do the same.

    I guess in my mind the only people in the band were Gackt, Shinya, and Jon so it didn’t dawn on me how much they were overdoing it with the line-up until I saw that very picture. It is even more ridiculous when you consider that the sound of YFCz (mostly standard pop rock) is just as complex and innovative as anything any three/four piece band could produce.

    From what I hear in the preview, I really like “All My Love” and the new album has me very curious. For what it’s worth, I’ll mention that “Grafitti” was one of the better “hard” songs that Gackt has made recently. I think it’ll be worth your money.

    • GACKT x Jon fanservice – Does not influence decision, at least not toward giving the PV a chance. Am personally pretty uninterested in fanservice, especially those two.
      Glad someone else basically shares my general outlook on YFCz; I was beginning to think maybe I was the only one not tripping over my feet to worship them. If he was going for “edgy and different”, I’m sure he could’ve pulled a better idea out of the originality-hat.

      All My Love sounds ok. I’ll probably sample via full PV before I decide to spend money on a copy for myself, though. Also curious about the album, but feel about the same toward it as I do toward aforementioned single. Will likely read reviews before placing any orders. Skeptical, but not passing final judgment until I hear it.

      Glad to hear you enjoyed Graffiti! Looking forward to giving it a listen tomorrow….Will sneak off to post a review whenever I get tired of family quality time. ;)

  2. Sadly, I think Jon is just a back-up singer who happens to get a little solo air time now and again. Seven-members is a little much but then again I’ve heard a few songs from jealkb (not sure if I spelled that right) so this isn’t awkward to me. YFCz music sounds like the kind of music any hard rock band could come up with even if YFCz has three guitarists.

    All My Love is alright. Not much to say except it’s a ballad and GACKT x Jon sound good. Waiting to hear the other A-side.

    Graffiti is a good song. Disappointed GACKT didn’t have a hand in the lyrics or the composition (according to the anime opening’s credits) and it doesn’t carry that signature GACKT sound. Still worth a listen but pretty forgettable in the long run. Also Until the Last Day is GACKT’s solo single and it’s going to be used as the theme song for a CG film where he voices a character.

  3. This is absolutely amazing. It’s basically impossible for me to not just laugh out loud when I read even the tiniest bit of one of your posts. Eighth member indeed… It’ll be nice to have something to read, uplift me and to remind me of you when you’re gone. And to remind me of how awesome you are.

Leave a Reply

