Get ready for gladiator sandals, The Perm, and the Satoshi-boogie…

I hope they leave the gladiator sandals at home.

I admit, I’ve entered a sort of state of denial about the lack of orange-highlighted dates on my sidebar calendar.

I like to flatter myself and primp my shameless vanity by assuming that lulls in the activity of Secret Garden are duly noted out there. Although I’m daily shelving a hankering to be on here spewing my snotty opinions about the noxious new releases of Jrock Today, likely setting out on the road to becoming some kind of embittered critic, while squirreling away my secret adoration of the more Kpoppian ventures of girugamesh, I hope to be able to post more regularly again eventually. In the meantime, I will continue to ask for your patience.

I notice that I’m not the only one who has been lagging in their post count lately, though. In fact, most of the blogs I read regularly (you know who you are) seem to be kind of slow these days. I remember those sweet, sweet, broke days of living on a whim and blogging sun-up to sun-down without a care in the world other than being totally cash-strapped. But remember this, kids, make good use of your blissful free time and become magnanimous forerunners of the future before the shackles of the 9-5 routine enslave you and stunt your entrepreneurial developments. What these other slaves to the system tell us is partly true, you get used to it, but that doesn’t mean it doesn’t stop being  frustrating. Ah, who am I kidding. The life of rampant hedonism is obviously the one for me. I’ll start a terrible Visual Kei band and do nothing but wine, women, and sleep, all in varying degrees of debauchery.

Now that we have my future sorted out, shall I spend the next thirty minutes of our time (so precious, according to the previous paragraphs) talking about something else equally inane and patronizing while I try and remember what I started this post to talk about? Nah, just kidding, I’m not that depraved yet.

This news apparently popped up over the weekend (proof that the world continues spinning even when I’m out of the loop. How dare they.), and although I admit it’s taking some time to sink in to the remains of my mushy brain, melted to the consistency of chunky 3-day-old applesauce zombifying slowly on the kitchen counter by too little sleep and too much caffeine too many days in a row, I’m pretty pumped to be able to announce this at last.

girugamesh WORLD TOUR Confirmed!!

2011.3.05 Tochka
Moscow, Russia

2011.3.06 GlavClub
St.Petersburg, Russia

2011.3.08 Nosturi
Helsinki, Finland

2011.3.11 Columbia Club
Berlin, Germany

2011.3.12 Diesel
Budapest, Hungary

2011.3.13 Backstage
Munich, Germany

2011.3.15 La Laiterie
Strassbourg, France

2011.3.16 TBA
Paris, France

2011.3.18 O2 Acedemy Islington
London, UK

2011.3.19 Zeche
Bochum, Germany

The band has apparently taken a leaf out of D’espa‘s book and is reaching out to fans for suggestions regarding their, y’know, tracklist for the tour. Hurry–together we can make a stand against having to ruin our current record by accidentally hearing Color live…

All snark sheathed for the time being, this is actually news that, once it fully establishes itself in my gelatin-filled skull, is worth getting psyched over. They are one of the bands that I would really stretch to see…and although Europe is a bit too much of a stretch (especially at risk of showing up to a disco-ball and Satoshi’s shuffle-boogie), ShuU started rumors on their official Facebook that more information (cough dates and locations cough?) is to follow. Holla, US? I think we’re ready for Color.

Not only that, but they have also announced a brand new album. The question I want you to answer, Visualists, is that of whether the album actually still runs a chance of stirring some response by returning to their raucous roots, or striking a new chord by actually going out on the limb of innovation and, god forbid, inspired creativity. This positive anticipation of giru‘s actions (recently so disturbing) is edged, we all know, by the woolen itch of doubt; the fear that it could really be rock-bottom. The maker or breaker. Takers?

 

9 responses to “Get ready for gladiator sandals, The Perm, and the Satoshi-boogie…

  1. I say we all pile in someone’s van and go catch 12012 before they break up…. last chance of an-all-original-band signed poster… (you know how much I love those!)… :)

    And… I give props to the gladiator sandals… the closer to cute japanese male feet the better I say! :)

    How is Europe the world? Anyway, if Giru came to the U.S. they’d probably just hit LA. :( But, giru, if you’re reading, you gotta come to NYC at least! :) And although many don’t like it, I say come to the Studio at Webster’s Hall, so SG and I can grab at cha! >:D … and wear the sandals if you hafta have foot wear!

    I did notice a distinct lack of posting during the Deg tour as well as the X Japan and VAMPS tours… though not unexpected, there were some things going on…. oh yeah I forgot to mention NYC Comic con where Boom Boom Satellites and Echostream (and a couple other bands) played at.

    AND I thought of another reason we should all go to AnimeUSA (to see 12012) “Promise” will be there… if you haven’t seen them, check them out on youtube. They’re… something… else… (I’ll leave my opinion out on this rare occasion…) Oh! AND of course, Echostream and Tomo will be there! :)

    Btw, how was your panel? and any thoughts on LC5? ;)

    • “How is Europe the world?” While I agree, it would often seem that the Japanese need to expand their geography lessons in middle-school, for the benefit of the budding rock and roll gods who will need that precious knowledge when scheduling tours….the important thing to remember is that, for some reason, world tour announcements usually start with the European dates. Likely due to the fact that Europe doesn’t hate on Visual Kei like this self-satisfied and ignorant continent?
      I would be surprised [disappointed] if they only hit up the West Coast. I hope they know better by now that they can kill a show in NYC. girugamesh could still off the grungy, angry small club scene, and it would be cool if they did that in NYC and/or Boston before they decide to go all out Tohoshinki and do nothing but arenas and disco spots.

      That lack of posting was gacktpause NOT attending any of those incredible events. Sad to say, but true.

      Update on how the panel went, and thoughts on LC5 coming soon per fangirl request.

  2. Oh my goodness. I have missed you, Gacktpause.

    I’m very much on edge about this new giru album. Their last couple singles were epic failures, so my expectations for their releases have fizzled out. Either way, I’ll most likely wind up shelling out a vast amount of cash for the album and forcing myself to like it. Okay, I’ll rephrase that. I’ll like everything but Color. You could chop of my limbs, rip out my spleen and hit me in the face over and over with it, and throw tarantulas at me and I would still never like that song.

    Can’t wait to hear about your panel! Seeing you survived it is the most important thing. ;)

    • In a way, even if the singles are prelude to the sound of the new album, I think it could potentially be a cool new plot-twist in the novella of giru’s career. The huge, huge sound and style shifts might actually mesh interestingly in an album roundup. While I’m confident that the album will follow closely on the heels of COLOR and Inochi no Ki, I do believe that there’s still space for them to release a pretty cool danceable, overly-mixed and pretentiously produced collection of songs. Knock on wood, right?

      I’m not sure how to take that use of the word “survived”…you meant you were hoping I wouldn’t get mauled by my rabid fangirls trying to get me to spit water on them… and not that you thought it would kill me….right?

  3. I’ve always been quite pleasantly surprised by how much I like their studio albums, so I’ll probably pick up and review the new one when it comes out.

    • Although it’s a bit of a tough-love thing with NOW, I have yet to be truly insulted by any of their studio albums. I’m highly anticipating this release, and although I have been wary of the singles lately, this will def be a pre-order.

  4. You think I would have learnt after the NOW album but time and time again, I’ve given their new singles a listen only to be disappointed. And in vain, I am anticipating SOMETHING [who know’s what] from this new album once again. XD

    • I feel as if this is an experimental phase for girugamesh. They’re moving away from the [excellent] days of hardcore and angst, and wandering off the path into pop and lighter rock. If you go back and listen to their releases through the past two years, you can see a pretty steady pattern forming as far back as mid-’09 with, say, Crying Rain and, obviously, NOW.
      By sometime in ’10, the pattern kind of fizzles out, and their sound and style have become sporadic and, in a way, pretty chaotic. Here you have Color with its nerve-wracking pop sound and anime theme OP chord progs, and then over here you have B-sides that actually give a glimpse into something more like what we’re wanting. Something heavy, something that grabs our attention.
      If you look at this as their experimental phase, it helps to explain why we keep going back and giving them another chance and another chance instead of dropping the band completely.
      We can’t drop the band completely because, face it, it’s a genuinely good band. We also can’t drop it because we have hope that they’ll still release something shockingly good and get us snobs all back on their good side. These glimpses, these fragments, of that sensation we’re trying to get from listening to their music, are what give us hope that they’ll release something amazing. Those snippets are what keep us coming back. We see that their integral, core ability to write awesome shredding riffs and melodies isn’t lost. Maybe one of these days, one of these albums, they’ll finally make a breakthrough with their experimentation and hit on gold. They’ll find what they’re looking for, and when they release something out of that victory, whether it’s screamo or emo or glitzy glamorous pop’n’roll, at the very least we’ll get the distinct pleasure of the satisfaction of knowing that “we’re there”.

      Psyched for the album, not so much for waiting for that release date.

Leave a Reply

