Dye Lot 501: ‘Russet Mother’

I’m….I’m having some problems….and I was hoping if I put this up, someone would be able to offer me some kind of assistance…or at least some sympathy.

Ever since I developed my capacity to be neurotically fixated on something with those 5 posts dedicated to that Jrock phenomenon, The Perm, I have been highly sensitive to the hair trends among Visual rockers. I was checking out some of the “new looks” for this season, and I noticed something of a disturbing new trend.

This particular hair color was first introduced into the Jrock fashion scene when Nishikawa Takanori started wearing it about, what, 20 years ago?  The difference here is that Nishikawa actually has a cool haircut.

Tetsuya

Tetsuya no longer feels confident in his physical appearance. He has, for the past year or two, had his secret twin sister take his place for photo-shoots and album covers. Pink skulls, pink boots, and fashion-denim? I mean really? Gone are the good ol’ days when Tetsuya still looked like a man, wore rubber-soles, and was never to be seen without at least ten different plaid garments on at once. Only in Japan do all famous men become Californian women when they turn 40.

SCREW

Who’s the hot chick on the far left? And more importantly, why is Kazuki wearing traditional pajamas and a smoking jacket? Middle man Byou there is rocking a pretty much picture-perfect rip-off (just parting it on the right won’t fool me) of the look Ruki started wearing earlier this year.

The GazettE

Aoi and Uruha aside, I have so many issues with this new look for The GazettE— don’t even get me started. Between Ruki’s metallic layers and Kai looking like he’s about to strangle the chef who made the Chicken Cordon Bleu late for table 7, I just don’t know what to think anymore. At least their music is still— oh, wait…

13 responses to “Dye Lot 501: ‘Russet Mother’

  1. LOL you pick on tetsuya too much when it comes to his looks although I will agree that he gets more feminine with each release. Still makes good music though.

    I’ve only recently got into the GazettE so I’m not going to talk about their looks but their music is also good. What was that “oh, wait…” suppose to mean.

    • Anything I say about any of them has no real venom. I do give Tetsuya an especially hard time, but I’ve always liked him and his music.
      The ‘oh wait’ remark was just meant as a gentle dis, because The GazettE’s newest single, SHIVER, fell flat. It wasn’t bad, it just wasn’t the kind of awesome expected of them. For one of PSC’s best groups, and one of my favorite artists, I had high hopes for it and it just sort of didn’t happen.

      • Speaking of SHIVER, I noticed the clothes the GazettE wore in that photo above are the same clothes they wore in the SHIVER PV. It looks weird in color. DAMN MONOCHROME BLACK AND WHITE. IT’S TAKING AWAY OF COLOR AND INJECTING LARGE AMOUNTS OF COOLNESS IS AN INSULT TO THE COLOR SPECTRUM.

      • Yes, these magazine shoots were for the promotion of SHIVER, so it’s the same look.

        True story! I’ve been totally digging the monochrome PVs lately. Now that everything is so hyped up and hi-def, it’s so cool that they’re all turning to this colorless, and sometimes bleak, theme. Now I would be really into it if they did some monochrome photo shoots as well — GACKT and Ruki have both done it in the past, and to be honest, there’s nothing more badass to behold than a Jrocker shot in monochrome.

  2. Wow thank you for pointing that out. I had no idea his hair was a straight up rip off of Ruki’s I didn’t notice it myself though I saw both already.

    Excluding Uruha and Aoi from the look bashing? Does that mean there safe? xD I keed I keed. I personally think Uruha looks amazing, he always does.

    • This look was also popular with Hyde for some time. He’s moved on to more horrific styles in recent times, but this reddish hue and soft, shoulder-length waves were, as far as I recall, an ongoing look for quite a while.

      Yes…those two are safe. Aoi has hit a point in his career where his look will just never significantly change enough to critique with fervor. Uruha looks exactly as you say: amazing, he always does.

  3. Pingback: Tweets that mention Dye Lot 501: ‘Russet Mother’ « Secret Garden -- Topsy.com

  4. i’m really not fond of the new gazette hair…(excepting Aoi who was prolly like “two small streaks of ginger is all i’ll allow. the end.” good call, Aoi..good call.) Kai’s hair looks kinda thin and altho Uruha looks like a goddess, his hair is a bit too disney princess for me…with that “normal” hair color Reita just looks like someone that’s cosplaying Reita but has to go to work on monday so can’t actually go wild with hair color…know what i mean?… and i dont even wanna talk about Ruki’s do.

    but it all does look really good in B/W!! hehe!

    (have the stylists announced yet when they’ll end the strike?) xP

  5. Throughout the years gazette never really fail to impressed me with their new looks. This time, however, there is little disappointment for me as I felt they are straying away from their origin and becoming more and more like the ordinary VK groups. If you compare to their previous looks in chizuru, the invisible wall, and even before I decay, you will noticed what I meant here. I’m a big fan of gazette and I’m not here to criticize them, I still like their new look, only that this time round they are lacking the “wow effect”.

    As for their new single, SHIVER, I would say it’s an average work by them. I felt the initial impact of the song is not there, the flow is flat although the song got a quite upbeat rhythm. I don’t sense Ruki’s emotion from his voice. Maybe I had set a high expectation for them after dim & before I decay. Anyway music is an art and is very subjective, who knows I might change my comments after I get my hand on the released.

    As for tetsu, I don’t blame him for being feminine by wearing a pink boot. He’s just following the trend…lolx!!!

  6. I agree with the gazette look its not that good .Except aoi san’s hair everything else looks really dull.MAYBE THEY DIDNT HAVE TIME OR ENERGY TO PUT THIS TOGETHER BUT THEY LOOKED REALLY HAPPY IN THE MAKING OF SHIVER SO THATS ALL THAT MATTERS.ND WE’LL HAVE TO ACCEPT THE FACT THAT THEY R GOING TO CHANGE FROM NOW ON N I HAVENT LIKED ANY LOOK OF THEIRS SINCE BEFORE I DECAY WAAS RELEASED.BUT THEYR STILL MAKING GOOD MUSIC SO THATS OKAY.WE’LL HAVE TO SEE IN THE 2010 TOUR DVD IF THEY RE SERIOUSLY THE SAME OR NOT CAUSE THE LIVES R THEIR SPECIALITY.

    • Well, technically the band probably doesn’t even lift a finger. Their stylists just do everything for them, and in Visual Kei the look is so prioritized that I doubt we can honestly blame it on a lack of time or energy. Styles change in VK, as in all fashion-inclined arenas, and in the past year and a half or so, there have been major hits and misses. This look isn’t terrific, but it’s not wretched, so I can accept it and move on to the music….oh wait.

  7. MAYBE RUKI SAN CHOSE THIS HAIRSTYLE BCOZ IT MAKES HIS FEATURES LOOK SMALL.I MEAN IS IT JUST ME OR EVRYONE IS SEEING THIS.COZ IN AN INTERVIEW ON ASAHI TV HIS FACE LOOKED REALLY SMALL IN THIS LOOK

    • I admit, I never noticed Ruki’s features being large before. If they get any smaller, he’ll probably turn into the Headless Horseman, minus the horse as well as the head. And then nobody wins.

Leave a Reply

