Single COLOR to be released by the one band that has never worn color in their entire existence

Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…..


So is that what this is. Finally information pertaining to girugamesh‘s July single release has been released. But honestly, at this point I couldn’t care less about the track-list. Honestly, I’ve already decided to buy the single, so as far as that goes, it’s not like I was waiting around for anything. However, there is something vitally more important that happens when new singles come out (particularly at seasonal-junctures): the band changes their look.

I see what you did there, Visual Kei. I take it back. I take back all of the 5 scathing posts, the unflattering pictures (in my defense, isn’t it your responsibility to always look flattering on film?), and every wrong I’ve ever done The Perm. Just take the freaking hats off. For anyone who hasn’t seen any other mad-hatters running around, for their latest single LOVE IS DEAD, D’espairsRay vocalist Hizumi was also pimpin’ a hat. Granted, he looked more like a 1920s gender-confused mafioso rather than some sort of hobo (lookin’ at you, Nii). That said, however, because I think the new look is really quite cool and moving in the direction of fashionable, I’m going to let them off easy this time. Oh, and because it would appear that Nii finally got off the streets– maybe he’s just hiding a bald-spot now.

Satoshi's new digs

Again, I think the look of all the members this time around is actually quite cool. It’s downplayed and casual– denim, the signature black skinny pants, etc. The simplicity is cool because although the outfits probably aren’t anything you couldn’t see on the streets of a chic Tokyo neighborhood, within the scope of Visual Kei they feel fresh and minimalistic-stylish. A lot of the more vet bands these are starting to lay off the psychotic peacock hair-styles and everything…I’m not saying anything against those styles, as I think many of them are quite awesome as well, it’s just that as bands mature, I respect it when they can adapt their look as well. I’m also digging Satoshi’s lack of visible makeup. I guess I can stop secretly referring to him as “Raccoon”.

Ryo

And yes, I do happen to be rebelling against Visual Kei typography by refusing to type his name with a backwards R.

And Shuu is….Shuu. What can I say? Well, let me try: the harem pants will never die? The harem pants should have died? Most metro-sexual people understand the general rule that one does not pair a baggy T-shirt with harem pants? The harem pants should be left in Aladdin? Unfortunately I was a bit disappointed with this final look.

SUMMER SINGLE RELEASE INFORMATION: “COLOR

Limited Type

Track-list:

01. COLOR
02. sunrise

Regular Type

01. COLOR
02. sunrise
03. フラワー (Flower)

On that note, though, I was not disappointed remotely by their cover designs. After NOW‘s total failure of an album cover, I was lying awake at night biting my nails over how they would scar us with the new one. It looks like they’ve captured their new theme/style well both look-wise and in the cover. No scarring– just more gloomy cool. I personally prefer the Ltd. type (which is weird, because for some reason I often prefer the regular type). I think their pose is cooler, and the color scheme is undeniable.

The single is released on 7/7. Make sure not to order along with any GACKT related product if you ever want to get your copy…. UNTITLED [w/ DVD, Limited Edition / Jacket A] / girugamesh

Source: official Facebook, neumania

6 responses to “Single COLOR to be released by the one band that has never worn color in their entire existence

  1. I like the cover because of the irony to it. Its called “COLOR” but what you see is a lack of color. Its “gloomy cool” like you said.

    • “Color”, “Sunrise”, and”Flower” are all kind of unusual names for giru songs, I think. And as you said, there’s a lot of irony going around here. I can’t wait to hear what the actual music ends up sounding like. It’s been a while since their last release, so hopefully they’ve been little sponges soaking up creativity and awesomeness.

  2. “the harem pants will never die? The harem pants should have died? Most metro-sexual people understand the general rule that one does not pair a baggy T-shirt with harem pants? The harem pants should be left in Aladdin? ”

    THIS. I cried yesterday when watching SID on Hey!Hey!Hey!, because Shinji seems to love playing his guitar with a brown harem pants.

    But that aside, their new single seems promising. And their new look is simply cool. Pretty cover too. I like how the in Ltd. cover the light brightens all around them unlike in the Reg. cover where it is only concentrated on Satoshi’s hand <3

  3. Cool! When does it come out? also, question. Where can I find their hoodie!!!! I’ve been lookin everywhere for it but nothing. I’ve looked on Japan files. It says their “out of stock”. I WANT ONE!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    • Sorry for taking so long to respond to your comment, I’ve been away from my computer for several days. The single is released July 7th. I’m not sure exactly where to buy their hoodie. Japan Files is usually the best place to go for girugamesh goods. Cool Japan Store also stocks a lot of goods from a variety of different artists, but I did a quick search through for you and it doesn’t look like they have it, at least at the moment. Are you looking for the NOW tour hoodie? Your best bet would be looking on comm. sites and auction sites, as goods from past tours are usually sold in ltd. edition batches that are rarely restocked.

Leave a Reply

