Summer Single Shortlist

Let's see some summer shockers, please...

Hiroto’s (front right center) expression in this picture basically sums up how I’ve felt about most of the new stuff I’ve heard the past couple of months. For example, at first D’espairsRay‘s Love is Dead sounded passably cool until Jrockers net-wide reached the unanimous decision that it sounds too much like You Spin Me Round to actually make it casually listenable. Usually I try not to listen overly much to any Visual Kei that makes me think of Adam Sandler in the ’90s. It’s not that the single is bad or anything, because it’s not bad, it’s just that I, and I’m not sure about anybody else, have started feeling a bit lethargic about the recent releases. There have been quite a few “best-of” collections and “nyeh” status singles released lately, I need a real stunner lest I should go catatonic.

And before any devoted and emotional fans start frothing at the mouth– I do concede that there are some releases that I know would be unfair to include in this generalization.

I don’t usually organize release information like this, but since there are so many awesome bands releasing summer singles in the next few months, I thought it would be worth compiling instead of doing a million one-liner posts announcing them (which I pretty much never do).

Summer Releases (they had better be good..)

Alice Nine // “Untitled” 8.04.10

Their latest release was a best-of in late ’09. Now that the boys are off duty for a few minutes (in regards to touring) they can actually write some new music. Hana was a pretty good single before the best-of, and although it wasn’t particularly ground-breaking, even the B-side Cross Game was pretty cool.

Creature Creature // “Untitled” (album) 6.16.10

I didn’t buy the first album, because I’m afraid that I’ll wake up one night and find Morrie standing over my bed….But DEAD END rocks, and Tetsuya rocks. Not that that means that CC rocks. I always got a real kick out of the caption on an upload of their “Paradise” PV: “Tetsu is at it again, with his creepy looking band and creepier lead singer”. –BanhBaoX That all being said, I thought the song Kaze no Tou rocked. It was reminiscent of L’arc, but on an even deeper tier of emoism.

D // “Untitled” 6.30.10

After warming up considerably to their brand new album 7th Rose, I feel slightly more lenient with the goths.

GACKT // “Untitled” 6.16.10

He likes to keep everyone guessing.

girugamesh //”Untitled” ??.??.??

First real venture after everyone declared them sucking because of NOW. After NOW became one of my frequently listened-to albums, I realized that I don’t give a damn what the rest of the Jrock community says; you can bash giru all you like, and I will still buy their music. Just make the A-side feel like an A-side

MUCC // “Yakusoku” 6.09.10

I’m slightly give-or-take about MUCC on the best of days, but I feel like this one sounds like the anime theme song it was made to be (seriously).

VAMPS // “Devil Side” 5.12.10

When I saw the cover art for this in the sidebar of my blog, I thought “Who put this ero pic in my sidebar?!” I was appalled. Naked girls with devil-tails don’t appear there unless I say they do.

+ VAMPS // “Live 2009” (DVD) 5.12.10

I want a Region 2 encoded DVD player.  I seriously think my computer will take drastic action if I try and set it up to handle R2 DVDs.

+VAMPS // “Untitled” (single) 6.09.10

I hope nobody reports me for indecent imagery in the sidebar .

Tetsuya // “Roulette” 5.19.10

In contrast to Hyde becoming very vagabond, Tetsuya remains as well behaved as ever. Still, you can’t resist bass lines like that, nor can you really say no to his happy-go-luckiness, even though, if you’re anything like me, you’re a jaded, macabre, and demented Visualist.

The GazettE // Film Bug II (DVD) 8.04.10

Only seasoned Jrockers can call things “I” and “II” without actually presenting evidence as to a chronological system. Where is Film Bug I?

+The GazettE // NEXT SCENE 7.21.10

I hope I can redeem the shame of not even remembering the last thing they released by pre-ordering this one!

**Pick ’em up at my favorite spot**

Note: titles subject to change prior to release date. “Untitled” is pending the release of complete information.

10 responses to “Summer Single Shortlist

  1. I completely agree with what you said about Girugamesh. I’ll listen to and love them no matter what!

    I’m probably most excited for the new D single. It took me a while to get to a point of acceptance for 7th Rose, but I feel better about it now and am anticipating the band’s next move.

    From your lineup, this looks like it’ll be one heck of a summer for J-rock. I hope it is as promising as it seems to be.

    • Yes, and I doubt this is the complete roundup for the season’s releases. There are a few more bands I’m keeping my eye on in anticipation of some announcements…. By the way….Don’t you just hate how Jrock releases all come out on exactly the same day? Not that I would mind if I lived near a retailer, but shipping on practically a bulk level can really break the bank….

      Well, the D single could either be completely awesome, or completely flop because it’s following so closely on the album’s heels. It can go either way, and I’m hoping that it’s the former.

      I’m really looking forward to seeing how a lot of these turn out, because of the reasons already mentioned in the post, and also just because I think a lot of bands in VK have reached a turning point. Many bands are celebrating ten or fifteen years in the business, while a few are just settling into stardom (A9, giru…plus, D is really just striking oil with their mainstream renown). A lot of these bands are showing an experimental streak which has been received both with disdain and delight in equal measure. Then there are the ones where you kind of wish they would start branching out some.

      Oh good, which means you’re as much of a hypocrite as I am in regards to 7th Rose. I’d be interested in hearing what changed your mind about the album and what aspects of it you’ve started to enjoy.

      Take it easy!

      • Yes, I suppose I am a hypocrite! What I like about 7th Rose is that, if you strip away the heavy “goth” overtones, you can still hear the classic D sound buried in there. You have to really search for it, and that’s something that takes WAY more than one listen to accomplish. So, with that being said, I gained a greater appreciation for the album because although the style is new, its actually fresh and not TOO far from the D I loved from the beginning.

  2. I TOTALLY know what you mean! Looking forward to new A9, Giru and Gazetto. Hopefully *something* will be revolutionary…

    • Those are the ones I’m most looking forward to as well. Particularly girugamesh, as they’ve received incredible criticism this past year. It will be interesting to see what they choose to do musically.
      Honestly, although I thought for the most part that Hana was a good single, I’m kind of hoping that A9 does something with a bit of a twist. Their style has become so popular it’s starting to feel a bit regurgitated.

  3. @Sakurayume,

    In my personal opinion it’s incredibly better to be a hypocrite and let a taste for something develop than persist in a negative opinion just out of stubbornness, so hypocrisy in regards to musical taste can never be a bad thing. Well, I mean, there are always exceptions, but I won’t mention those here.
    Besides, to continue on that note, often the albums that take the most time to develop an appreciation for can be the most interesting musically. D has such an a-typically-D sound and style that it’s almost refreshing for them to release something that’s unlikeable on first listen. That you can stick with it and let it unfold to show its true colors is credit to both you as a listener and the band in their composition.
    Personally, I found that although the first few times I listen to the songs off 7th Rose I don’t think much of them, there are particular details or phrases that are really cool, and as I better understand those, the rest of the song starts to make more sense.

  4. Thanks for the post! Now it’ll be easier to keep up with my favourite bands. And the GazettE’s Film Bug I was released sometime after NIL, if I’m not mistaken^^

    • You’re welcome! I hope the compilation helps.
      Ahah, so there is a Film Bug I after all. Thanks for shedding some light. To be honest, I haven’t been keeping up with GazettE nearly as much as I should. However, their activity lately has reeled me back in, so they ought to be popping up around here more often.

      Thanks for commenting.

      • No problem. I practically stalk the GazettE on daily basis anyway. So I guess I’ll look forward to your future posts! :D

Leave a Reply

