The Pros and Cons

Just back from the con this evening. And I feel like this:

CA3A0003And aside from totally throwing me off in every way, I find DST really exciting. If everything else fails, let the twice-a-year time-change exhilarate your life… I always have a hard time wrapping my head around the logic of DST. All the leaping forward and falling back and gaining hours and losing hours and the great extra sunshine in those god-forbidden hours no decent person should be doomed to witness. I was sort of paranoid that none of the clocks were going to change automatically, and I was going to sleep in too much and miss the early AM panels [at the con]. The hotel clock wasn’t automatic, but my phone didn’t fail totally, and at 2 AM when I checked the time it had performed its duty, and no panels were missed. No, rather, I woke up 1.30 hrs before the alarm went off. Now I feel like a Laputacian robot that needs some axle grease, requiring a very sturdy spatula to peel my crippled and still breathing carcass off the pocky-crumb dusted floor…  laputa03

The only thing I really missed this weekend was the music. Follow up from earlier post: con #1 of con: super extra no Jrock at the dance this year. Plus it started late and finished early, but what’s a chap to do, eh? Right before they played the last song, they said something about because it was an anime convention, needing to end it with certain style, so they played a high-energy meow-meow candy-pop song. If they were really worried about that, they should have played Jpop the whole (or even a 1/3) the way through. No, I’m not ‘con’plaining. :) Also, the dubious “Intro to Jrock” panel was removed from the events-list this year, much to my relief.

Hey-ho. Tomorrow is brutal re-entry to the cold and disinterested 9-5. Life can’t be all fun and anime, right? Wrong.

257684-samus_snake_high_five_largeWeek from Monday is London, and then scraping together any scant remaining quid to buy Double Decker boots. Day in the life of GP, your eternal host on Secret Garden, over and out. +

Leave a Reply

